What's new
What's new

OT? Thoughts on teaching part time at local tech school

AARONT

Stainless
I have been kicking around the idea for a couple months about teaching part time at the local tech school. We have been less than thrilled with the quality of students that are coming out of the program. So I was thinking maybe if I could get in there part time I could shake things up a bit and get students to question how they are currently being taught. We currently have two students that are enrolled in the program and two that have graduated from it in the last two years. One of the graduates is currently an apprentice under me. So I feel I have a grasp on how I could help train better. I have about 11 years in the trade and my Journeyman's. It's not an overwhelming amount of experience, but is more than enough for that program(I graduated from it 9 years ago).

I am looking for some insight from people who have done this. What did you struggle with? What advice can you give to make the transition to teaching easier? The main concern I have is I don't deal with people not listening/screwing off very well. Which I know there will be more than a few students doing. How do you handle it professionally in a school atmosphere? The way I want to handle it in the moment is not always the best, so I take a breath and walk away(Not sure if you can do this when teaching). Then come back when I'm calm.

Teaching is its own art/skill/talent; someone who is an expert in any field may or may not be a good teacher, and a superb teacher may or may not be an expert in the field (though it helps).