What's new
What's new

OT/Trenchless sewer pipe lining questions

SLG

Cast Iron
I'm helping a friend resolve a cast iron sewer line problem under a concrete slab. One company has quoted $24,000 and another company $30,000 to epoxy/fiberglass line 125 feet of 4 inch pipe.

I've never worked with this stuff before. Both bidders seem to think it's a two day job for two men. I roughly calculated it will take 15-20 gallons of epoxy, plus the fiberglass sleeve.

High pressure water and a rotorooter-type machine is used to pre-clean the old pipe.

Allowing $4,000 for material, $1,600 labor, $1,000 wear and tear on the support equipment and incidental stuff...$24,000???????? Am I in the wrong business?????

Was wondering if any of you have experience with this type product, and what are your thoughts on the pricing?

There are several ways to repair a sewer line. This happens to be one of the most expensive. It's viable if you can't disturb what's on top of it, like a complex machine or structural parts of your building. In part the price is based on what it would cost you to do it other ways. Often the equipment and technique are patented and the contractor must pay a fee to use it along with expensive equipment and training. As an aside, I'm moving my construction company towards utility work like this because I am "in the wrong business". I would ask "why did the line fail and will this technique prevent that failure from progressing?". If the pipe is moving then the repair is likely to fail as well. If you can dig it up it may be cheaper and more effective in the long run. Pipe bursting is another alternative that may fit here. Keep looking.

I had 30 feet burst lined for 8000.
The machinery was pretty special.
They dug two holes for the process.

Machinery, training, the epoxy ain't cheap, permitting, a backhoe for the terminus and possibly the lead, permits, a street cut, repave?
It is a lot of money, but it's not without a lot of overhead.