What's new
What's new

OT: Using carbon fiber to repair a fan blade.

SteveF

Titanium
I've got a Cyclone Rake leaf vac which works great up until the plastic, four-bladed impeller had one of the blades crack. The CR web site says the part is back ordered and I can't get anyone to answer the phone or respond to email. Nice. I could epoxy the crack in the blade but doubt that will hold. Could I layer some carbon fiber sheets onto this thing to give enough strength to be usable?

Thanks.

I've got a Cyclone Rake leaf vac which works great up until the plastic, four-bladed impeller had one of the blades crack. The CR web site says the part is back ordered and I can't get anyone to answer the phone or respond to email. Nice. I could epoxy the crack in the blade but doubt that will hold. Could I layer some carbon fiber sheets onto this thing to give enough strength to be usable?

Thanks.

I'm not an engineer... But unbalanced things rotating at high RPMs tend to make me... skeptical.

I can be very anal about rebalancing things, not worried about that part. Know a guy with a small foundry who could probably use the part to make a mold and make me a cast aluminum one. Getting a casting defect that might cause a aluminum blade to hit me in the back of the head, that I would worry about.

Apply the same carbon fiber sheets to all the blades and it should be good enough. Probably. You'll have to be pretty anal about keeping the resin squeeze consistent too, a fat sheet on one side would be as bad as not applying it.

Edit to add: do both sides if possible. Otherwise make sure the repaired side is always under tension during operation.

PPS: Lost of plastics don't bond to adhesives or epoxies all that well. Be careful. I would not do it, but if you want to try anyway, wrapping all the way round is your best bet. Performance will possibly suffer a bit due to the weight, thickness, and geometry changes.