What's new
What's new

Ot- what is best practice when allowing load safety margins in design?

Trboatworks

Diamond
What is the practice used in allowing some extra margin in fittings when designing for safety?

I was specifying a part strength and a coworker commented that I was failing in the exercise as the goal of 'good engineering' was to "make it strong enough but no stronger".
I am not a engineer but occasionally need to specify a part strength.

So... say a bolt.

I would proceed by citing known loads, adding margin of unknowns to order of maybe 50% additional and call that number 'working load' for component.

The comment was that known load is working load, any additional loads the part sees are taken up by safety margin build into the bolt by nature of the breaking strength being far higher than stated working load.

I am right eh?- "working load" is a approximation of all known and estimated loads and one specifies components to that number?
I guess I would call that the "design load" for the widget?

It seems to me that using up the margin between a the cited working load on a component and breaking strength by designing the part to be used in that margin is not good practice?

Formal practice?- trade practice?
"She looks like it will hold"?

Thanks all

Don't confuse "working load" with yield strength, which is usually the lower number cited when there are two strength/stress levels given for a bolt. In most applications, if a bolt yields, it has failed.