OT- white gas camping stoves/lamps - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Wow, that loos really nice with the burners going.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Yeah, awesome looking stove! I'm a sucker for old tech, and liquid-fueled burners both. Got an MSR Dragonfly as my backpacking stove over lighter weight options for various reasons, and now you've shown me that I don't need to be chained to a propane tank for car camping, either!

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by M.B. Naegle View Post
    Thanks guys for sharing your support AND your less fortunate experiences. Just to summarize, it sounds like in addition to common fire safety I should:

1. Check for leaks via corrosion and loose parts. Every season, or when it gets cleaned. There's actually a brass check valve under the cast iron burner manifold that I think is a drain for water condensation?

2. Monitor tank pressure and the condition of the filler cap seal. I'm thinking after use and before throwing it in the back of the van, I'll let the burners get cool to the touch and then release any air left in the tank. This stove can hold a lot of fuel, but unless I plan on cooking all day, I'll only put in a quart or so at a time so there's less chance of fuel spilling out.

3. Anything else to keep this stove from taking away my eyebrows (or worse)?