What's new
What's new

Overall quality of Birmingham 1236 lathe

Status
Not open for further replies.

akpolaris1

Plastic
I am on a very limited budget and can find the above Birmingham lathe for just under 4k. How does the quality compare to a Jet or Grizzly? I could not determine where the Birmingham is manufactured.
thank you

Most likely China ,about a toss up as to quailty choice there. Read forum discussion guide lines as that type of lathe is banned here as it is home shop grade. Personally I have been using a very similar 12x36 for 15 years with no complaints.

Most likely China ,about a toss up as to quailty choice there. Read forum discussion guide lines as that type of lathe is banned here as it is home shop grade. Personally I have been using a very similar 12x36 for 15 years with no complaints.

Thank you. I suppose the lower end equipment creates a great deal of rock throwing and name calling. I did find some threads discussing these units but they were pretty old. I can only afford so much for a home, hobbyshop environment.

Thank you. I suppose the lower end equipment creates a great deal of rock throwing and name calling. I did find some threads discussing these units but they were pretty old. I can only afford so much for a home, hobbyshop environment.
Read a few locked threads about banned equip, it becomes pretty apparent how to get good info while sneaking by the rules.

Sent from my SM-G981V using Tapatalk

For $4000, you can get some serious quality used lathes, far in excess of that lathe. Don’t worry too much about 3 phase, as there are solutions.
Questions/requirements:
-what are you going to use it for? (use requirements)
-what space do you have?
-what electrical power do you have?
-what tooling do you want right away?
-what tooling can you get for the lathe?

Read a few locked threads about banned equip, it becomes pretty apparent how to get good info while sneaking by the rules.

Sent from my SM-G981V using Tapatalk