What's new
What's new

Overmolding circuit board parts

David Carlisi

Stainless
Does Anyone know of a shop that does overmolding of electrical components in the southeast? I had one of my regular customers approach me this morning with an inquiry for a large quantity. Thanks in advance.

Amkor is located in the Phoenix area. They are one of the largest "sub-cons" as they are known in the trade. Their manufacturing is all in Asia. But I think they do prototypes in the US. My guess is that what is a large quantity to you may be small to them. Packaging subcontractors do more than half of all the packaging of IC chips and discrete devices, as well as chip on board and other packaging variants. I recently retired from a job where we engineered manufacturing equipment for IC packaging, so I have some experience in the area. PM if you have questions.

For small scale prototyping, VLSIP is pretty good (http://www.vlsip.com/). Amkor, ASE, etc are all pretty big - you need a fair volume to get their attention.

Just to clarify, by overmolding, you mean packaging integrated circuits? (or multichip modules). Or do you mean potting an existing circuit board for protection?

Feel free to PM me if you do need more info on packaging - I work for a IC manufacturer, and deal with the packaging part of the business.

Matt

Matt, the customer wanted me to machine a small quantity of the enclosures while we waited for a quote for injection molding. When I examined the part in more detail, I discovered that there were several electrical contacts molded into the body of the casing. The project is in limbo right now because of that. To answer your question, I would say a combination of the two. The circuit boards are potted for protection, but also include 3 copper leads.

Hmm, not sure if I can help then. The process that I'm familiar with is only the assembly of microchips. I'd assume the process is pretty similar for other shapes with embedded wiring, but I've never seen the process.