What's new
What's new

OT - (not really) Drones and Cameras - Who runs them?

Zahnrad Kopf

Diamond
Ultimately there is machining involved, but I need to learn some things first. :cool:

Who here is well versed in cameras for drones? I'm doing a secret squirrel project and need high resolution video of the sort that a GoPro provides, but need it to be much smaller. I want a lens that is no larger than 0.750"/19mm diameter. 9"-12" of ribbon or round cable to the electronics would be good. I imagine that the weakest point is going to be the cheap optics, but I have no experience. Is it possible that they're not bad. (?)

I'm investigating some quality cameras and bits from Sony and others, but the thought occurred to me that the drone guys are using stuff that SEEMS to fit the bill rather nicely. I simply have zero experience with anything about them ( drones or cameras ) so don't know what kind of quality that they ACTUALLY provide. Is the video anything comparable to a GoPro?

Talk to me...

Well, I have one, and I'm very impressed with the images. No noticeable compression artifacts, and this is a low-budget unit. The optics probably aren't up to automation / AI monitoring or anything like that, but the images look good. High res means different things to different people. How high?

High res means different things to different people. How high?

"I don't know" is the technical answer. As high as a GoPro of recent vintage is the practical answer. I'm seeing 4K as being the current standard.

Browsing through the youtubes seems to indicate that something like the Caddx Ratel would be pretty acceptable, but I'm admittedly ignorant about this, and they aren't filming the same things I am considering, so I don't really have any frame of comparison for it. No automation needed. No AI. Just plain old recording of video.

Thanks.

How are your electronic chops?