Perhaps a stupid idea (flood coolant) - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Mcgyver View Post
    IThe idea was to continually circulating the coolant through it using the pump. I have no idea of the math, but the thought was with enough passes through the UV chamber eventually all the bugs would find themselves momentarily in that thin layer of doom.
    They will multiply quicker than they'll be killed.

At one point I studied aquatic UV sterilizers quite intensely. They're constructed exactly as you describe, and that's what I had in mind while answering the question. There is a very definitive relationship between the construction of the chamber, UV power/flowrate (=effective doze), and the volume turnover rate to make sure the pathogens are killed quicker than they're multiplied. With non-transparent fluids, it'll be an exercise in futility.

Country
    FINLAND
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I am wondering, transparent means transparent to the UV frequency right. I am not sure if it's possible for a fluid to be opaque to visible light, but transparent to UV light of the right frequency (253 nm in the case of the UV cleaner we have).

Ozone has also been suggested. Though I still wonder if heat isn't simpler. My idea is a stainless tower tank with a tight lid, taller than wide to reduce surface area and evaporation. Maybe 50 liters in size is quite enough.

I have checked the ingredients of my current coolant concentrate and none that I can find out are are sensitive to temperatures of below 100C (canola oil, sodium hydroxide and triethanolamine). None of them are near unstable at pasteruization temps.

As a side benefit, once heated up it would act as a heating element for the shop. Could even be fitted with radiators and a fan that turns on once the temperature is high enough.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)