What's new
What's new

piston wrist pin boring.

timbo917

Plastic
A friend of mine asked me if I could do some machining on the pistons of
his vintage wayne air compressor. There is excess play on the wrist pins in there bores.
I am a mostly self taught hobby machinist but I do have a general idea how I can do this on the mill.
The thing I am having problems figuring out is to set up the pistons on the mil. I was planning to use my universal
mil in a horizontal way. the problem is that the bore where worn out ovally and my friend thougt he could get them round again with reaming them. He got them round for sure but the reamer found his way trough the hole and they are not in center annymore. How can I get a refernce on the round piston so I am sure the bore goes straight through the piston.

regards

Tim

A friend of mine asked me if I could do some machining on the pistons of
his vintage wayne air compressor. There is excess play on the wrist pins in there bores.
I am a mostly self taught hobby machinist but I do have a general idea how I can do this on the mill.
The thing I am having problems figuring out is to set up the pistons on the mil. I was planning to use my universal
mil in a horizontal way. the problem is that the bore where worn out ovally and my friend thougt he could get them round again with reaming them. He got them round for sure but the reamer found his way trough the hole and they are not in center annymore. How can I get a refernce on the round piston so I am sure the bore goes straight through the piston.

regards

Tim

If I am understanding your situation correctly, the answer is you can't with a reamer. It is going to follow the existing hole.