What's new
What's new

Plain bearing material selection

Bill Simmons

Cast Iron
I am rebuilding a trans-axle for a 580k Case backhoe. Amount many issues the spider gears and their cross shaft pins are highly worn, about .040 combined wear. I bought aftermarket gears. Due to crazy prices on OEM pins and really poor quality in the aftermarket pins (I know, I bought some), I am considering making the new pins my self. They are about 2.5 inches long by 0.875 in diameter. The features required are some flats and one cross hole of about 0.2 in diameter.

I do not have a way to measure hardness of the original pins but they will not cut with HSS but will cut with Carbide tooling. I am just an amateur machinist and do not have much knowledge of metallurgy. I do not think that the pins would be highly stressed as about 5/8 of an inch is supported in bore on each end leaving about 1.25 inches between supports on a .875 inch pin. I believe I want a material with the max hardness I can machine to minimize wear. Please make some recommendations for a suitable material.

My primary tools are a Takisawa TSL 800 and a manual Gorton 2-32 mill.

Were the after market pins hardened? As in 'cannot be nicked with a good corner of a file'? If not, you might be better off looking for a heat treatment to improve them. Same goes for whatever you could make yourself. 4140 prehardened is not hard enough to call hardened.....more like strengthened.

I'd use 8620 and get it carburized for .030" case depth, then hardened to Rc60. This gives you a ductile center and a very hard case, which I feel will be more shock resistant than 4140 heat treated right through, at Rc60, if they can even get that out of it.

55 is about all you’ll get out of 4140 and it will be glass. I would temper it back to no more than 52RC and still not hold my breath.