What's new
What's new

Planing Aluminium and steel

imane

Plastic
Hi everyone i’m actually new in machining ! I have a question if you can help me , I actually have some steel and aluminum blocs and I want to improve their surface to make it plan and to have the same thickness everywhere. The first idea I had is a drum sander or a wood planer , it might work with aluminum but definitely not with steel. I know that milling with fly cutter on a CN machine will work for me but it takes a lot of time and cost expensive ! I’m looking for machine that can do the job for aluminum and steel bloc

Safety First

Hi everyone i’m actually new in machining ! I have a question if you can help me , I actually have some steel and aluminum blocs and I want to improve their surface to make it plan and to have the same thickness everywhere. The first idea I had is a drum sander or a wood planer , it might work with aluminum but definitely not with steel. I know that milling with fly cutter on a CN machine will work for me but it takes a lot of time and cost expensive ! I’m looking for machine that can do the job for aluminum and steel bloc[/QUOTE/

You want to learn about machining. However if you try to do this job in a wood planer your chance of success is nil to none. The chance of you being injured is quite high. Don't use a wood planer to mill metal unless you have a desire to get hurt. Do the job in a Milling machine built for the task. Look at Hobby Machinist on the computer to learn about machining processes. Don't allow yourself to get hurt. I encourage you to learn the basics of machining first.

All The Best
Roger

DSC_0061.jpgDSC_0030.jpgDSC_0056.jpg

You can plane them both at the same time with good cutting oil & sharp tool. This is an auxilliary table made & planed for one of my table saws with a slider section.

FWIW the junkyard sourced al donor casting was something like a very large drill press base. Unknown actual original purpose.

smr