What's new
What's new

Please identify this knurl..

Opportunist

Plastic
I am new to this site and this is my first post. So, if I do something wrong, let me know.

I am new to machining but was brought on by my dads company to handle business development. So far so good.

I have an opportunity to do some work and cannot figure out the textured surface. Is it a knurl?

A little technical info:
- All Dimensions are Metric
- 100.50mm Diameter Over Textured Surface
- 420 Stainless Steel Material
- 15mm Overall width

Attachments

• ROLLER.jpg
    ROLLER.jpg
    82.5 KB · Views: 552
I wouldn't call it a knurl. Hard to say without knowing what it's used for. If you're looking at having one made, it's expensive.

420 stainles is usually heat treated, no heat treat specs.
No finish specs anywhere. If it has to be ground, the price just went up.
No tolerance shown.
Don't know what the bore is and any GD&T info.
Probably not something "off the shelf" at Fastenal.
JR

Ask the people you are going to make it for. What is it? What and how is it used?

Download Eagle Rock's knurl catalog and see if there's something similar in there. 420 will be a pain and I'd be reluctant to bump knurl it- use a clamp type tool instead. Don't know if you can cut a pattern like that.

I wouldn't call it a knurl. Hard to say without knowing what it's used for. If you're looking at having one made, it's expensive.

No tolerance shown.
JR

It is for some type of heating roller. That's all I know about its use.

We would be machining the raw material prior to heat treating. I am not aware as to whether they will heat treating or not.
The only finishing specs it calls out is removing burs and breaking all corners and edges.
Tolerances are: (X +- 0.5) (X.X +- 0.3) (X.XX +- 0.10)
The center bore is 16.50 - 16.55

Hope this helps, sorry for the lack of info in the original post.