What's new
What's new

Please school me on having small cast iron parts made

Luke Rickert

Hot Rolled
Hi I am prototyping some small cast iron parts and would like to send out the RFQ's. My background is in aerospace so cast iron is not something I have much experience with and I need some pointers for what I should send to the foundries to communicate most effectively.

First what process should I be using for a small number of small (1 to 10 kg) ductile iron castings. I would like the best surface finish possible. On a small scale is lost wax/foam a good option or crazy expensive? Should I stick with green sand or something else.

Would it be helpful to a small foundry to send them 3D printed (drafted) versions of the parts I would like cast?

Should I send drawings and 3D models of the finished parts, 3D models of parts as cast etc?

Does anyone have a foundry in Europe they can recommend? There don't appear to be any small places left in Norway that work with cast iron (off shore industry only) so I am guessing the UK or maybe Sweden. I have lists of places contact but could use help reducing that list. Actually if there are any good places near New Jersey in the States that could work as well, shipping from there to Norway by sea is cheap.

thanks

Luke

Before writing an RFQ, contact the prospective foundries.

TALK with them, get their limitations, make changes to the design to accommodate
the casting process. I went so far as drawing in the parting line after consulting the foundry (on the casting drawing which you should be making), and thereby eliminated a core.

I'd be machining from durabar if possible before I sunk the cost into a casting pattern. For your initial order cost probably won't be a lot different. depends if you can get durabar that size of course.

Luke,
I'm with Willie, make the prototypes from cast bar stock if
possible. I have made many parts that patterns were no longer in