What's new
What's new

Is it possible to make this simple, small steel cone?

BlackPike

Plastic
My knowledge of machining is just short of pathetic; I'm a software engineer and this question actually comes from a personal project, nothing professional.

I'm been kind of surprised at how hard it is to find the right resources on the Web to fabricate this part exactly the way I've spec'd it. I guess true cones are a little difficult... I understand that spinning can be done in such a way that there's a point with no hole--but I still haven't been able to find precisely what I'm looking for.

Here's what I need:

Cone-4.5-detail.jpg

Any guidance from the forum would be greatly appreciated!

Of course can that be made. Spun it will perhaps not be as straight as you imagined or the tip not sharp enough. Drawn it will require a large press and the forms. Cast it will demand a good sand shaper. It can be hammered by hand on a wooden tip. Some closer specs would help, say, surface finish, roundness, such.

x, y, and z you specify down to tenths. Okay, it must be turned then, a precision job. No, wait, no precision because no tolerances

Do you understand?

The final application has a lot of how you want to make it. 1/16" wall with a 4 1/2 base diameter will be somewhat prone to distortion. If you can stand a joint, the easiest way would be to lay the part out in the flat and roll it into shape. Then solder or weld the joint followed by final shaping and cleaning up the joint by grinding, sanding or whatever. The rolling part could be done by a series of small creases with a press or a wooden cone cut to be slightly smaller than the inside of shape of the sheet metal cone. A series of hoops, like a barrel could be used to force the sheet metal to conform to the wooden form and be used to hold it in place while the joint is made.

It could also be spun but there would be a ring like surface finish.

Tom

[QUOTE