What's new
What's new

Postal nazi -shipping oil coated parts?

I took a typical order of some parts i make (collet set for Oliver woodworking mortiser) to the PO yesterday and got the normal "anything perishable, hazardous, etc, etc...)

Me-No.
What is it?
Steel machine parts.
Do they have oil on them?
A light coating to keep them from rusting.
You have to wash it off. We have other customers that ship parts but they wash & dry them before shipping.
I washed the machine oil off, dried, lightly dabbed with LPS#2, individual baggy wrapped, then plastic bubble wrap + tape, then all in larger sealed baggy, then more bubble wrap into box.
We can't ship it, it's flammable.
I've been shipping parts like this for over 20 years. To summarize, you'd prefer people go with FEDEX or UPS?
Let me check with supervisor. (wait) She said i have to look up in regs. (watch, wait)

No, I don't think we can take them. You have to clean the oil off the parts. They might go on an airplane, and the oil would be considered flammable.
LPS #2 is not flammable, and what about the cardboard box you provide?
Sorry.
Me (shrug) leave.

If they aren't starting to use them yet, someone is asleep at the switch - there should be VOC sensors at any air shipping point. So I don't want to just take them to another PO, lie, and have them confiscated.

What do you guys do?

Any "non-oil" approved inhibitors?

smt

The clerk is an idiot

get an online account do all the postal purchasing online and either leave them for your postman or bring them in and drop them on the counter

I have never had any such conversation.

My clerk asks the normal question and I reply Nope Nope Nope as I walk away and she slides things in the bin

there is no such rule about washing parts

crazy

I ship oil samples USPS on a regular basis. About 4 oz of used diesel engine oil would make a heck of a mess if squished. The lab supplies pre-addressed shipping bottles, with an enclosed shipping bottle.

Hey SMT,