What's new
What's new

Pricing on small qty's of turned parts

I have been making little bushes once in a while for a few years, usually 20 or so at a time. 2 diameters, .75, .495 -0 +.002 each diameter is .20 long for a total length of .40, .410 hole through. 304ss. I have been charging 10.00 each up till now. He wants to order 50 now and thinks this huge quantity should get him a discount. No doubt if he was wanting 1000s the price could be a few cents each but for 50 parts what do you think?

I'd expect 50 to be cheaper than 20, sure. How much cheaper depends on what you need for setup.

If it was me and I knew he'd be buying these once in awhile, I'd make a couple hundred on the CNC and put them in a bin.

Regards.

Mike

Well, describe how you are making them now.

Miltronics ML20 lathe. Pneumatic 5c collet set up. Dorian manual turret. Cycle start 1st op puts the turret, tool 1 center drill in the correct position to set the material projection from the collet. Then center drill, drill, chamfer hole, turn od chamfer corners, part off 1/2 depth then break corner with parting tool and part off. Then chamfer id with a countersink on the drill press.

Miltronics ML20 lathe. Pneumatic 5c collet set up. Dorian manual turret. Cycle start 1st op puts the turret, tool 1 center drill in the correct position to set the material projection from the collet. Then center drill, drill, chamfer hole, turn od chamfer corners, part off 1/2 depth then break corner with parting tool then part off. Then chamfer id with a countersink on the drill press.

Well your not doing them on a engine lathe.

What is the cycle time ?
How about the setting up time ?

$10 a piece sounds like reasonable for very short runs, done with fast turnaround.

Would the larger order of 50, change the way you do things ? (IE: shorten
both the set-up time, and the cycle time ?)