What's new
What's new

DRO Assistant / Virtual Tool Box

LFEngineering

Cast Iron
This ones got a little bit of a build up to it, but if you keep reading it'll make some sense, Trust me.

I'm a recently graduated Engineering Tech who runs a small one man shop on the weekends. My mill is a 1950s Bridgeport Round Ram with digital scales. Throughout my forum surfing I've read that some DRO setups have the capability to do some programming, bolt patterns and such. This gave me an idea, why not move the shop computer (my old college laptop) to the Bridgeport & write up an excel sheet to spit out coordinates for me.

Well I did, I created a program which I call the Virtual Tool Box, my computer sits to the right of my machine like a DRO screen and provides me with programs to create circular & rectangular bolt patters & key-ways. On the home screen I've also a links to a digital copy of the Machinery's Handbook, digital machine manuals & maintenance records, shop notes, tool inventory ect.

My question is as machinist what other features would be helpful? I'm talking anything from other types of bolt pattern calculators to a count down timer till happy hour.

Have some fun with this, as you can see from the pictures I did.

Bender.jpg

For those of you who don't know, that's Bender the smartass robot sidekick from the tv show Futurama

Mount.jpg

Here's a picture with the computer on it's swivel mount. And yes I have a keyboard cover coming to protect it from chips and stuff.

Cir2.JPG

First rough layout of what one of the calculators might look like. Of course you could do all this math by hand by that's what we use computers right to make our lives "easier"

That's pretty cool! You might want to put a chip guard over that scale. How did you hook up the scales to the computer?
have fun
i_r_machinist