What's new
What's new

Pros & Cons of starting off on a Monarch CY16 (18.5x30" 5HP) lathe

*D'B=6bk

Aluminum
I was in the market for a typical Home Shop Machinist lathe as my first tool but came across a deal on a 1944 Monarch CY16 that I couldn't turn down. So now she's sitting in my garage on skids.

I have no specific intended use planned out, I'm just a mechanical/controls/robotics/systems engineer that likes to get my hands greasy.

Other than the space it takes up and electrical power, and assuming the tool is generally in decent shape, are there any pitfalls for owning/operating this lathe vs. a newer, smaller lathe?

Its a real lathe that weighs a little less than 5000 lbs. It is one of the GREAT machines made by Monarch. It even has lead screw reverse on the apron. Probably won't be as "fast" as a el cheapo modern thing, so you just get to make do with the older ways

What else is there to say?

I guess a little safety smarts will be in order - it has at least 5 HP (and later 7 1/2 HP) and can take off your arm in an eyeblink

You got POWER for this thing? It will need three phase of course

Sort of related pub:

http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/2103/17622.pdf

If you ARE new to all this - you need to seriously digest ALL the conceptual content in a pub like this

http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/1617/5795.pdf

Lead screw reverse lever is absolute awesomeness.

Yes - it almost makes up for the pathetically small spindle bore.

I have 2 complaints about my Monarch CY lathe - the small spindle bore and the low top speed (490 rpm on mine).

I can fix the slow top speed, the spindle bore, not so much.

But they're really great lathes and mine has the taper attachment that masses more than a toy South Bend lathe all by itself......

PDW