What's new
What's new

quality screwdriver set

badwithusernames

Aluminum
In the past several months, I've bent/ broken/ misplaced a good number of screwdrivers. In an attempt to replace them, I realize that most every brand I can find is not of the "quality" that they once were. I would happily spend the coin on good tools, but it seems that everyone outsources everything, and quality is suspect. Who still makes decent screwdrivers? I was thinking maybe Proto, but I can only mail order their stuff, and I don't want a $200 test drive. Or maybe Knipex; they make really nice pliers. Maybe their other tools are decent?

I am a mechanic and really like the snap on screwdrivers . I know they cost a lot but I use them everyday .

I might get banned for this but, I use harbor fright flathead and phillip's screwdrivers, bondhus allen wrenches, wiha torx, if I am working on something that a don't want to mar the screws I use a set from chapman manufacturing. I like to get good tools and do for some things however I have a bad habit of abusing screwdrivers especially flatheads. Sometimes they get used as a prybar, chisel, soldering iron, ect.

Last edited:
I have screwdrivers that are over 50 years old and still going strong. Are present day ones as good? I don't know. Some screwdrivers are prone to wear. Phillips tip ones are one example, probably due to the cam-out problem and hardened screw heads.

I have purchased a number of brands over the years and most of them have worn well. Craftsman was one of my favorites, not for any great quality, but for the guarantee. I have a Craftsman offset driver that has been replace two or three times after breaking. Since Sears is no longer here, I don't know if that lifetime warranty is still any good.

If I wanted to buy a known good screw driver today, I would order from McMaster. Their stuff is usually good.