Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Country
    BELGIUM
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by PDW View Post
    Do you think I'd be insane enough to spin that chuck up to 3000 rpm just because the spindle speed goes that high?
    PDW
    This is my point, if your chuck is rated for those speeds, why not? Hence my question, im just looking for a chuck that can handle these speeds. I have about 6 years of experience on me, i started out on smaller lathes to learn what is and is not possible. Again i state that of course i dont know everything there is to know, but i definetly know the basics. Sorry if i give of a smart-ass impression, i wouldnt bother with being proven wrong, i try to learn from everything.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

700RPM on a lathe is a lot like midnight.

Nothing good happens after either one.

Country
    BELGIUM
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by GregSY View Post
    700RPM on a lathe is a lot like midnight.

Nothing good happens after either one.
    What are you on about?
    In school we had mondial Celtic 14 lathes (fairly unknown brand) fitted with 250mm Chucks and we there those around at 2000 rpm all day and guess what, im stil alive

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by PDW View Post
    How much actual time machining stuff on a lathe have you done?

I ask because your assumptions seem based on ignorance really.

My Colchester Chipmaster has a top speed of 3000 rpm. It also has a 10" diameter P-B 4 jaw chuck that's very nicely made.

Do you think I'd be insane enough to spin that chuck up to 3000 rpm just because the spindle speed goes that high?

PDW
    With a "Hobart" address?

Bet your ass yah would .....if you were in a randy mood!

Country
    UNITED STATES