What's new
What's new

Questions on Milling Dovetails

mtags

Plastic
Hello,

I'm new to machining dovetails and looking for some information. Specifically, I'm interested in machining O-Ring dovetails similar to the ones attached (Both trapezoid cross-sections and ones with a flat vertical wall). What do I need to watch out for? What are good references for feeds & speeds? Chip loads? Do you cut both sides of the angled walls at the same time? What are the pros & cons of using a solid tool vs. a tool with inserts (Tolerance? Cost? Repeatability? etc). I'm cutting standard metallic materials such as Aluminum or Steel. I know these can be turned as well, but right now I'm looking for milling on 3, 4 or 5 axis mills.

I believe you usually cut the rectangular portion of the slot with a standard mill and then go back with the dovetail mill - are there rules of thumb for this? (Cut depth to the slot bottom? Over / under slot bottom by a couple thousands of an inch? etc.) Is the standard mill the same size as the pocket? under sized?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Dovetail-Examples.png

Hello,

I'm new to machining dovetails and looking for some information. Specifically, I'm interested in machining O-Ring dovetails similar to the ones attached (Both trapezoid cross-sections and ones with a flat vertical wall). What do I need to watch out for? What are good references for feeds & speeds? Chip loads? Do you cut both sides of the angled walls at the same time? What are the pros & cons of using a solid tool vs. a tool with inserts (Tolerance? Cost? Repeatability? etc). I'm cutting standard metallic materials such as Aluminum or Steel. I know these can be turned as well, but right now I'm looking for milling on 3, 4 or 5 axis mills.