Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Pennsylvania
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default recommendations for automated pipe cutting and drilling please

Hi, I've been working for several years to keep a small (30 employees) fabrication shop up and running with various machinery repairs/ problem solving/ upgrades/ etc. Their product line has been around for many years, and is currently built on decades old jigs, where every step is hands on moving the stock. The basic stock for several models of fixture is 1" schedule 40 pipe that comes in 20' lengths, and has to be cut manually with a cold saw, and then various holes drilled at different spacing. As you can imagine it takes several trips with several machines to cut and drill each piece. But, they have been doing it this way for years because it works, and the niche market has supported them. However, at this pace, they will never get enough done to keep inventory, and everything will remain built to order..
    So, does a machine exist that could cut and drill the pieces? Essentially taking stock lengths and turning them into cut, drilled components, that maybe only needed to be de-burred? They are set to move to a new 35,000 sf location, and it would make sense to NOT move a dozen antique drill presses, if they could be replaced by a single machine.
    I know my way around a shop, but the world of automated/ cnc machinery is completely foreign to me. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Pennsylvania
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I would contact the cold saw manuf's, kalamazoo, Kasto, and the like.

Inquire about a cold saw with automated feeder, and see if they can integrate a suigino
    drill head into their machine.

GAA-5 9 DT 2 | Cold Saw | Scotchman Industries

Granted it's for non ferrous, but inquire anyways.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Illinois