What's new
What's new

Reducing cycle time - tooling question

tcncj

Cast Iron
Hi

As I told a couple times before I'm fairly new to cnc machining. And still learning each day.
We machine 99% of the time aluminium.
Most of the parts got some inner pockets. At the moment we use a endmill to helix into the material and rough it out. Not the fastest way and we're searching for something faster.

The options we got is a indexable drill, to drill the hole which the endmill can enter.
Or getting a ripper (pro-x) mill to rough out the pockets. Which is a bit faster and will save on 2 tools in the toolchanger.
"problem" is that the 25mm pro-x mill wants around 12.000RPM. But we only have 6000RPM. would this work? And how should I adjust the feed/chipload because of the lower RPM?

Trying to search for a way to reduce cycle times

Most of the time I use smaller endmills. I find that the extra tool change wastes more time than just Helixing in. I guessing your toolchanger are pretty slow as-well if your mill maxes out at 6000rpm.

Most programs have some kind of drilling involved. You dont have to use a specific drill. Even if you are able to drill a 3/8 hole before a 1/2 endmill goes in it would be helpfull.

Hi

As I told a couple times before I'm fairly new to cnc machining. And still learning each day.
We machine 99% of the time aluminium.
Most of the parts got some inner pockets. At the moment we use a endmill to helix into the material and rough it out. Not the fastest way and we're searching for something faster.

The options we got is a indexable drill, to drill the hole which the endmill can enter.
Or getting a ripper (pro-x) mill to rough out the pockets. Which is a bit faster and will save on 2 tools in the toolchanger.
"problem" is that the 25mm pro-x mill wants around 12.000RPM. But we only have 6000RPM. would this work? And how should I adjust the feed/chipload because of the lower RPM?

Trying to search for a way to reduce cycle times