What's new
What's new

"Repair" a damaged mill table with a pallet???

challenger

Stainless
My old Index mill has a severely damaged table. I've had this mill for many years but it's been unused by me. I recently got a hair to get it running so I disassembled and cleaned it and am about to paint it and reassemble. The table has a lot of damage from past users and much of the T-slot areas are unusable. Is it practical to put a a piece of aluminum on top of the table as a permanent pallet or is this an all around poor idea? I bought is slab of 1" Fortal plate Thats the size of the table way back when I bought the machine. It's Blanchard ground fwiw.
I'm not looking to get high precision results from the machine but don't really want reliable unreliability from the table twisting etc. I'm not a professional machinist by any means so please excuse my ignorance.
Thanks for the advice.
7a2cf27a91a9fe62b348695bae2d9a35.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

That looks pretty nasty :D Looks like someone else already had the notion to bolt a subplate on top, as that 8 hole pattern is not a normal feature I've ever seen on a mill table. Adding the subplate does rob you of some height (think of distance between drill in chuck and work sitting on table at lowest position).

I'm not sure if the material you have is flat and parallel sided enough to just slap on and use. What are you planning to do with the machine?

A subplate can add some extra utility if it is done thoughtfully. For example, it could be a bit wider than the table, and have holes in the edges to clamp a 'fence' on, or other clamping devices as required to hold onto some oversize parts.