What's new
What's new

rheostats getting warm/hot ??

bobbie

Plastic
I am a home inspector. Often lights or fans are controlled by dimmer switches. Since I spend 2 to 3 hours inspecting a home, I don't take a lot of time to recheck, but if the object being controlled is on for awhile, when I go back to turn off the object, sometimes the switch plate covering it gets warm or even hotter.
Is this normal ?

Thanks, Buckeye Bobbie
May 11

early dimmers came mounted on finned heat sink cover plates.

There must have been a reason....

There is a limit to how hot exposed surfaces can get. I do not recall the exact number, but I can say that "warm" is OK. Hotter than you would want as a shower or bath, is not.

Old rule of thumb: if you can keep your hand on it, it is probably OK. If you can't, then definitely investigate why.

Reality Check: I am 76 years old. I worked in electronics for all my 45+ year career and I have never seen a rheostat used for a light dimmer in a home or commercial building. Rheostats are variable resistors and resistors are basically a device that converts electrical energy to HEAT in a controlled manner. That is basic to the operation of any resistor. So, if you really are observing rheostats, then the heat is probably part of their basic operation. And they should be designed to dissipate that heat: heat sinks or whatever; some means of dealing with that heat.

BUT, each and every light dimmer that I have ever seen in use in a building's lighting was NOT a rheostat. They use electronic circuits to do this in a more efficient manner. So less heat is produced. Not no heat, but LESS heat.
Earlier ones, several decades ago, and higher power ones used less efficient circuits and they often did have a heat sink that had external fins. Today the fins are often not needed because much less heat is generated. So the age of the light dimmer can be a factor.