What's new
What's new

rotary broaching depth

modlbtr

Plastic
I am new to rotary broaching. I just ordered my first wobble broach tool and I would like to know what to expect.

I need to broach a .250" square hole, ideally .75" deep but I'll take all the depth I can get. The tool data sheet says it can reach .505", but also that it requires a 45° lead-in chamfer at diameter .360 minimum.
broach lead-in chamfer diameter.jpg

If I turn this last .042" of material off after initial broaching, is it possible to re-insert the broach with spindle off and continue on to get that .042 back for a final depth of .505?
broach depth after turning off chamfer.jpg

material = annealed maraging 300
tool = Polygon solutions BT-075-B with S02525B broach

My understanding is that with wobble broaching a slow helix is formed due to the clearance geometry the broach needs to function. As you go deeper the helix gets more prominent.

If you're running a close tolerance to the mating part you should discuss your needs with the broach vendor, you could get a custom tool made to maximize depth and control the twist as much as possible.

Never tried to go back in a hole that was broached, my first inclination is that it will be difficult. After facing off the chamfer my guess, impossible.
That said I think I would modify the tool by grinding a 45 on the shank to clear the chamfer and get as deep as you can with one pass. As Milland mentioned the correct clearance on the broach will minimize the tendancy to spiral.

Really you should just talk to Steve at polygon about what exactly you want to do, and have him send you the right tool for the job. He makes and ships customs pretty much as fast as he ships off the shelf broaches.