What's new
What's new

Safety feature |has it been done?

Tyrel

Plastic
Good day,

I am a cnc programmer and operator and I hate it when a machine crashes so I was thinking of making a safety feature with a camera that watches the tool and the part and checks to see if there is going to be a collision. Has this been done with something similar.

Many if not most crashes happen in rapid travel so very difficult to catch in time.

QT: A camera that watches the tool and the part and checks to see if there is going to be a collision.

Could have a sensor and then a voice that says "Ops" after a crash.

Many if not most crashes happen in rapid travel so very difficult to catch in time.

Have you ever done the math on "Rapid Travel"? Its not very rapid.

1000 inches per minute is just less than 1mph. Even if you have a rocket fast
machine, its only going 2 or 3 miles an hour.. Less than walking speed, unless
you are talking about the lady in front of me in the Walmart aisle, in which
case, less than 1mph would be Rapid.

Complexity for complexity sake. It would be cool, but guys running one offs won't pay
for it, or need it, and places running production would need that feature once, EVER,
and won't pay for it.

You'd have more nuisance trips than actual accident avoidance trips.

As we progress (?) into the future, the more I become aware that technology is becoming a real pain in the ass. Smart doorbells! Cars that foresee accidents and avoid them! Lord, it's a miracle!

Everyone wants their asses wiped for them nowadays. It's not a good thing.

How exactly is a camera supposed to know before hand that there is going to be a crash? Think about it.
-Ron
Lets do this.
If the camera knew distance to go, had the right camera angle and a high enough resolution, fast update and imaging processing rate, the machine with a good decel, fast interconnect camera to cnc....
Bob