What's new
What's new

Safety First

I don't use fly cutters, so i'm no expert on the subject.....But 12K rpm with that thing?

I have no idea how balanced that thing is...But if someone in the shop said they were going to spin that tool at that speed, I would go for a bathroom break.

Hopefully the software shows the chain of events. Literally dodged a bullet. Factory rep time.

we had a guy run a flycutter up to 10K once. (only a 4" dia though) It shook the machine so hard that the phosphorus was shaken off the CRT display.

I don't use fly cutters, so i'm no expert on the subject.....But 12K rpm with that thing?

I have no idea how balanced that thing is...But if someone in the shop said they were going to spin that tool at that speed, I would go for a bathroom break.

think the guy said the 12K RPM was a mistake or error in the machine.

Paul
I

Video stated that the machine had prior erratic behavior.

As far as going for a bathroom break, I'd want it to be across the street.

Video stated that the machine had prior erratic behavior.

As far as going for a bathroom break, I'd want it to be across the street.

Maybe down the block and across the street. The weight went through 2 1/2 walls by my count. First thought was who runs a fly cutter that fast. 800 RPMs was the limit with shop built cutters on manual machines in several shops I have been at. The commentator attributed it to "machine error", makes more sense to me now.

Maybe down the block and across the street. The weight went through 2 1/2 walls by my count. First thought was who runs a fly cutter that fast. 800 RPMs was the limit with shop built cutters on manual machines in several shops I have been at. The commentator attributed it to "machine error", makes more sense to me now.

Not only that, but it was still waist height when it hit the far wall :eek: