What's new
What's new

Safety: Removing Watches in the Shop

3dpforge

Aluminum
I have been in a couple of shops. Some require the removal of all jewelery others only require it for some types of jewelery. While poking around facebook, I saw a photo where a friend was wearing a watch while running a mill. I'm curious what everyone's take is on watches. If they don't hang loosely, are they a necessity to remove? I personally always remove mine but I wanted a second opinion. If anyone has any injury stories or OSHA reports that they can site as examples please post them. I much rather explain to people why they shouldn't be doing something with examples rather than just stating arbitrary rules.

I wear my Rolex Submariner every day, the only time I had any problem was while working on a BMW 2002. I was reaching under the dual sidedraft Weber carbs and shorted the battery cable on the starter to ground with the watch. Melted the shit out of the band and I got a 3rd degree burn on my wrist.

Much like gloves in the shop, it's all about understand what is risky.

Running an engine lathe, or drill press should require removal. The same with some maintenance activities.

But, for most tasks, the risk is minimal. Running a CNC or welding. Even the Bridgeport seems pretty safe.

Most times I don't wear one just because it gets beat to hell and gets dirty.

After having the same end results as moonlight when working on a semi I stopped wearing metal watches when working with any tools. However I wear a plastic watch all the time now, I have broken many but they have always come apart at the pin.

Why would anyone wear a watch? The clock is on the wall, cell phone, etc. The local Hand Surgeons here (Klienert & Kutz) are the best in the country, do not give them work....