What's new
What's new

Scotchbrite on gasket surface--did I mess up big time?

nxd

Plastic
Hi all,

This is my first time posting in this forum, but I've lurked around before.

I recently did some maintenance on a relatively large import lathe (> 15" swing), which consisted of draining the old oil and refilling the gearboxes with new.

But, after doing this, I remembered reading about an oil filter in the manual and thought myself an idiot for not looking at the filter to see if it was something that could be replaced before I changed the oil (nearly two gallons worth).

So, I went to remove an access cover to get to the filter, and found that it was held on with a paper gasket and presumably some kind of RTV. The paper gasket came apart and left behind a mess. I scraped most of it away with a razor blade, but couldn't get the thing residual layer of RTV(?) off, so I used a scotch brite pad. I tried to be careful to cover the opening where the cover plate was (the opening led straight into the oil reservoir, about 1/4" above the oil level), but I'm fairly certain that I probably got bits of scotch brite "dust" into the oil.

I scooped out some of the oil that had obvious bits of dust in it, but I'm wondering if I shouldn't just dump all the (brand new...) oil and re-fill. I'm worried that the small amount of aluminum oxide in the scotch brite pad could get lodged into some bearings and do damage.

Am I over-reacting? Should I just slap it back together and call it a day, or should I dump 2 gallons of fresh oil and re-fill?

The fact that you are asking tells me you are concerned about it. If you are concerned, then change out the oil. I find few things worse then doubt when it comes to a job I have done.