What's new
What's new

Scraping in a surface plate.

Pug2000

Plastic
Hi all,
I’m here looking for some advice on how to hand scrape in my grandfathers old 2 foot by 2 foot crown surface plate. Having a small workshop of my own the surface plate will be really useful, however during the years of no use whilst my grandfather was ill it suffered some rust damage.
Now I’ve had some experience scraping in and I have also watched YouTube videos of the leading lights on scraping in, but they all use the surface plate as the point of reference, I’m wondering if there is another method out there that doesn’t involve me buying another surface plate to scrape in surface plate?

In the absence of a master surface plate large enough to print yours to, If it was me, I'd get a straight edge of length equal to or greater than the diagonal across the plate and have it scraped and checked against another known flat surface (such as a friends straight edge or surface plate). With that you can print the surface plate you are working on in sections for local flatness, then print it diagonally and along the ends to check for twist and bowing.

Similar process to how they check granite plates for flatness. Look for overall flatness and local flatness, separately, and compare those readings to see where the low spots really are. Be extra careful of how the straight edge hinges and watch how the blue on the high points transfers. Because you are using a standard smaller than the printed surface, you have to be extra sure you are not getting a false reading. Even then, I'd take it to a meterology lab where they can check it's flatness and confirm your results. I imagine you plan to use this plate as a master once's it's done(?) so you don't want to assume something and unknowingly transfer it's defects to everything it prints.