What's new
What's new

securing 6 MT sleeve in headstock - how hard to tap?

aribert

Cast Iron
I'm a hobbyist so normally I post questions on a hobby maching forum but I figured the knoweledge base on this forum is much better for my question. My Summit 14 lathe has a 6 MT in the spindle. My question is how hard to tap the sleeve into the spindle?

Backstory - on my previous lathe, Clausing 5914 with a 4.5 MT, I made a 5C adapter and when I inserted the adapter to use it, I used the hand wheel to draw the adapter into the spindle. I made a 5C adapter for my current lathe, starting with a commercial 6 x 4 MT sleeve. I very gently tapped the sleeve into place, then machined/ground the sleeve into an adapter. Checking the run out its 10x+ more than I want it to be (now .005 in.). If I lightly tap the adapter with my lead hammer the run out is reduced to .002. I've adapted a Royal lever collet closer for this lathe instead of the handwheel on the previous lathe.

How hard should one tap on the adapter to seat it, since the load (impact from tapping) goes directly into the spindle bearings? I just don't have a feel for what is reasonable in this size of a taper. BTW, I inserted the adapter clocked the same way to the spindle as it was ground - not that that should matter.

Tapping harder isn't the solution to runout. I'd start by making sure you have everything clean, clean, clean. If that doesn't address the issue then I'd suggest looking to see if you have galling inside the spindle, look for burrs, etc.

If you are able to tap on the adapter and the runout changes, that means the two tapers are not the same. Did you try to "bluing" to see if the two tapers mate end to end? And are you sure you have a No. 6 MT spindle taper? Generally with D1 style spindles in larger ones, you have a ASA standard taper that is .750" TPF. It's listed in the Machinery's handbook.