What's new
What's new

Selecting and questions on indexable/insertable endmill?

megiddoblades

Plastic
Thank you for your time, I'll preface this with, I'm a newbie student machinist, and got excellent advice here before on a CAD/CAM system.

We haven't really learned much yet in the way of carbides, inserts, types, etc. Thus, I'm looking for a recommendation on insertable/indexable cutters and lathe tool.

This year, we will primarily be machining aluminum, and next year we will be working on molds, dies, and possibly other tool steels. The ops I'm looking to be able to do with an endmill is profiling, pocketing, and facing, and for a turning tool one that can do left and right hand turning, radius, and possibly, thread with the same tool. In short, both tools that are good all arounders, and fairly economical to replace inserts. I know it will probably be at the cost of of specializing, but that'll be a question for you guys when I have a black hole tool budget for a MS horizontal. ;P

Looking at insertable tooling, it's flooring how many options there are, in insert types, coolant throughs, high feed or larger DOC types, and frankly I have no idea where to start.

First off, Kennametal, Sandvik, Walter, Kyocera, Iscar, Ingersoll or someone else for a long lasting, quality, durable tool? Do coolant through types require a special coolant system or hookup, or does it come standard on CNC's(Told you I was a newbie)? What machines a part faster (MRR's, right?), something with a lower DOC, but faster feeds, or one with deeper DOC at the cost of feed? What size would you recommend? Any simple reading or videos on it you'd recommend on them? Would you suggest solid or insertable types for use on a regular Bridgeport style manual machine?

Sorry for the wide open, tall order question here, I hope you don't mind sharing your experience and recommendations. But in any case, take care, God bless, and thank you very much for your help!