Selection of new boring bars.....which one??
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Selection of new boring bars.....which one??

Backround......

I am not a production machine shop, I do not solicit machine shop work.

That being said, we do "machine shop work" all the time for the products we build ..

I need to update our boring bar tooling for both the lathes and boring heads.

I know this could turn out to be a Ford/Chevy thing.........I hope not....

1/2, 3/4, 1" dia bars, indexable, what type of insert??? triangle/diamond??

Not wanting cheap China stuff here, looking for high quality., will be used with carbon ,SS and a bit of aluminum.

Most boring we do is 3" or less in depth of material.

Thks

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Regardless of the insert, I would go with solid carbide/heavy metal bars if you can afford them, The ease in avoiding chatter is night and day compared to steel bars.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

For those sizes of bars, I'd for sure get solid carbide if you're going to run bores of any real depth. Steel bars turn into chatter city after just a few xD. It is typically advisable to run as big of bar as you can get away with to limit chatter and deflection, but those carbide bars in bigger diameters get spendy quick.