What's new
What's new

Setting Power Feed Stops

NTSOS

Plastic
Hi all....I'm just a hobbyist with a milling machine. I am milling a channel in a work piece, I have a power feed on the X axis and a DRO. How can I easily set the power feed stops without resorting to trial and error? I miss the hard stops that my old machine had.

It would be very convenient to move the end mill into position, via the DRO readout and adjust the stop while observing a test light to indicate accurately when the power feed will disengage. Any suggestions?

Thank you.

John

I have never tested the accuracy of repeatability of a power feed stopping from its limit switches. Aside from your DRO having the capability of seeing PLC stuff, I wouldn't necessarily trust the accuracy of it.

What DRO and what power feed are you talking about?

Jon
H&W Machine Repair

You don't mention what machine you are using but the power feed stops on my Bridgeport aren't repeatable enough to give DRO level accuracy. Probably inherent with any system that relies on a spring held over centre mechanism that flips when things are pushed just past centre. The Bridgeport system springs aren't exceptionally strong and there are a fair few parts with significant friction involved. The single tooth dog clutch in the feed drive of my P&W lathe is thou or so accurate but the spring loading is much heftier and it works with a considerable bang.

On the Bridgeport I set the DRO zero to the end of cut and use the power feed to get close and finish a quarter or so turn of the hand wheel. Works well but you do need to exploit the multiple zero memory set up of the DRO on most jobs. There are times when I'd kill for a simple remote switch to click through half a dozen or more presets.