What's new
What's new

Setting up change wheels on metric Chinese lathen

Status
Not open for further replies.

samrodian

Plastic
A bit late but happy new year to all. Just joined forum this morning. I am a very amateur metalworker, and have been given a Chinese made Warco WMT 300 lathe mill combination machine and am looking to set it up for screwcutting. The leadscrew appears to be of 2.5 mm pitch( I counted ten threads and got 25 mm). Unfortunately the change wheel set up and banjo were taken off of the lathe prior to my acquisition, and I have no proper idea as how to go about setting it up. It has two spindles and three gears below the headstock spindle and Two on the lower spindle) I am not sure whether they are to be discounted in the set up of A,B,C,D,and E in the charts displayed on the inside of the cover. The lower of the two spindles is fixed so no variation of those two gears seems possible to me, but it has a longer spindle and another gear is able to be put on it. Does that constitute the "A" in the train? I have a full set of change wheels that came with the machine, from 2x27 up to 70 teeth. Any explanation and even pictures would be of enormous help! Thank you in advance. samrodian

Last edited:
New members need to read the rules.

Machinery Discussion Guidelines

Is Warco still in business? They should be able to help. At any rate, a UK hobby machine probably has plenty of UK owners, so a web search may turn up leads to owners and pictures or videos that will help answer your questions.

Larry

Last edited:
I suggest you try this forum: The home of Model Engineer and Model Engineers' Workshop Magazines
It's friendly and knowledgeable and is more apt to have members familiar with the metric version of this machine. It's possible, to a rather limited extent, to ask questions related to these "hobby class" machines here but takes some creative writing to avoid actually identifying what you have.