What's new
What's new

Setup question: drilling big holes in small discs.

MwTech Inc

Titanium
Ok, this is not a trick question. I've been drilling holes for 30 years but..................

New toy in shop, Cincy 4x13 radial.........

Have 80 plus 4.00 dia ,500 thick carbon discs to put a 1.375 hole in the middle, also some 1.00 thick will get holes also.

Did this job a year ago but not using the radial, my hope is to pour the coals to it and pop these holes out quicker, have big ol morse taper drills.

My concern is the bit will bite and spin the disc in the vises that I have...........maybe not, but drilling the first batch it required a lot of pressure to push bits thru on the turret lathe,(using 3 jaw chuck to hold) although I did do three passes using Silver & D drills which took forever. I'm after one pass and spin out big spirals. :D

So there must be some trick....right?????

Course would be really neat to stack them buggers......................

my ol faithful W&S #3

She did OK, but even with sharp bits that last bit I had to assist the feed pretty hard, i didnt want to wipe out my feed clutch.

And still even using good 18n chucks the bits would still spin at times.
Just the whole process to slow

If'n it was me, I'd thin the point (not split, thin) of a to-size drill, and clamp a three or six-jaw lathe chuck on the radial for holding. Keep the drill sharp/thinned, one-shot the hole. Do a good job with the thinning, otherwise you'll cut oversize and tapered.

If you get too much deformation with hard jaws, use steel soft jaws bored to suit.

Old lathe chuck on the table of the radial drill? Jaws flipped around on it so clamping the OD and no way for it to move down?

I'd do it with an insert drill on the CNC lathe in about 15 seconds per hold. Or less than a minute if I didn't have the drill and had to bore to final size. My neighbor would just do it on his iron worker. At least for the 0.5" thick disc. Keeer pop!

Dang .......:o