What's new
What's new

Sheldon R15-8

trident marine

Plastic
Hello,
My lathe model is Sheldon R15 I believe it was made in mid-1966, the s# is 32297 the change gearbox is a concealed unit with two dials located on the front of the lathe to rotate to the desired speed and feed. However under a cover on the left side of the lathe, there are three pullies coupled withe a timing belt style (an idler/tensioner pully a drive pulley, and a headstock drive pully, please note that they are pullies, not gears, with straight rectangular teeth.

Thank you for your reply.
-Adam

Attachments

• IMG_4682.jpg
    IMG_4682.jpg
    88.8 KB · Views: 191
i'm no expert, but i believe the sheldon square
head R- series was a mid 1970's machine. they would be
adapted to tape cnc and a tracer and turrett
model. different class of machine than the south
bend / clausing style of the early machines.

i'm no expert, but i believe the sheldon square
head R- series was a mid 1970's machine. they would be
adapted to tape cnc and a tracer and turrett
model. different class of machine than the south
bend / clausing style of the early machines.

Mine was one of the last made, I don't know the exact year but early 70s. It was intended to have a variable speed drive but it was never installed. A fellow who worked for a machinery dealer bought it and was unable to come up with a drive, so it sat in its crate until I managed to buy it after years of trying. I put a 15 hp DC motor with a motor driven three phase Variac and rectifier in the base and made an appropriate control panel. A very fine machine, medium duty, not comparable to Monarch 61s or American Pacemakers, etc. for heavy stock removal, but it has well earned its keep.

I have the manual scanned if you need it.

Bill