What's new
What's new

Shell Mill Identification Help

RallySoup1000

Plastic
I recently picked up a shell mill from a machinery wholesaler for $45 today. it has no identification marks and it came with a R8 collet. The cutter inserts are really worn down and I'm in need of replacements. As I am relatively new to machining I'm pretty lost on tool identification. If anyone can help me Identify this tool and its inserts it will be much appreciated.IMG_20190406_141927.jpgIMG_20190406_102421.jpg

You paid way too much... throw that in the garbage and pick up an indexable facemill.

A Chinese facemill will outperform that 100% and exkenna (latheinserts.com) or Frank at Maritool with hook you up with a much more modern tool.

It is most likely going to be very difficult to find replacements for those. Here's a link to an old thread talking about basically the same thing.

Help me find carbide inserts for a face mill

There is one response that mentions making your own out of lathe tool bits and putting a slot in them instead of just a hole. This should allow you to index them all to the same height if you let them rest on a flat surface and then tighten everything. Good luck!

With that being said. Is the collet/arbor still any good? The diameter of the shank (I'm not 100% sure on the terminology) is 1" if it is any good what would be a good inexpensive shell mill that would fit this?
5536a78988fe719d176b7b6dc8ffe36b.jpg

Sent from my Z983 using Tapatalk

The facemill should have an arbor size listed. 1” is a little large for a R8 spindle IMO a lot of smaller diameter facemill are 3/4”.

Lathe inserts .com

I was thinking the same thing. That's a hefty shell mill for R8. Generally the arbor size correlates to the mill size. IMHO, 2" is a good "large" size shell mill for R8. Going to be a bit of digging to find a 2" shell mill with 1" arbor.

You paid way too much... throw that in the garbage and pick up an indexable facemill.