What's new
What's new

Single to 3ph bandsaw giving a small shock occasionally Any idea the cause?

Uguessedit

Aluminum
As the title states my bandsaw is shocking me every once in awhile and I cannot figure out what the cause is. It seems to do it where the powdercoat has worn off and if I’m wearing nitrile gloves as I do most the time i never notice it. I checked grounding and everything is tight and looks correct. The only thing I can come up with is if one of my motor wires is wired out of phase? Perhaps that thought is incorrect? I’m not an electrician but I’m also not new to wiring and have formal training in low voltage electronics. The other thought is I am building up a static charge somehow and that is what I am feeling. It isn’t intense like 110v or 220v. In fact when I get the shock it feels like a sharp static shock that hits up the forearm a little and makes me pull my hand away as you would a door knob after walking across carpet except I don’t hear the static crack as you typically would instead I feel more of a pulse algorithmic charge like you’d get from the wall socket. Lol, sounds like I have experience being shocked, I’m sure we all have been there once or twice before. The vfd is 220v single phase to 3 phase 3/4 horsepower techtop motor on a 5” bandsaw. I’d like to not worry about getting a bigger shock or any for that matter and fix the issue even if it is some type of static build up finding a way to eliminate it would be great. As I stated the grounding is solid to the vfd and motor and from the vfd to the saw chassis where it is mounted and it is also grounded through the motor housing to motor mounting plate as it is currently wired. So I don’t know what else it could be except a wire out of phase possibly back feeding through the ground giving an alternator like effect. Thanks ahead for any input.