What's new
What's new

Slitter saw on a horizontal mill

Dannno

Plastic
I'm running a K&T 205 SA that I bought this year. Amazing machine, does all I ask and more.... except.... today I went to cut a slit with a 1/16" x 5" HSS slitter saw and sheared through the key on the horizontal arbor.... twice. Using recommended speeds and feeds, cut went well until it didn't.

Technique wise, is there something I should do differently with a slitter saw? I was running a much lower feed rate the second time, and it wasn't a heavy cut.

You need to use a hardened key. Your current setup with the hardened arbor and slitting saw functions as a impact shear. The soft key is being sheared as expected.

none of my slitting saws of this size have a key. so yes, what you are doing wrong is not tightening the nut enough.

Thank you for the replies. I'm new to the horizontal mill, and thought about throwing a hardened key in, but assumed that if it overloaded the key with a hardened key it might create a real train wreck. I can see where the narrow cross section of the saw concentrates a huge force if the key comes into play vs the larger contact area of a milling cutter.

Pay attention to insure gullets never overload with chip and that they cleanly evacuate. Metal wedged into a full gullet will not easily compress.
This (and the bolsters) seems like where I need to focus. I didn't consider that with the narrow kerf, that the chips wouldn't clear as cleanly as with a milling operation. Probably should have moved one of the air blast nozzles to make sure the chips cleared as the teeth exit the cut.