What's new
What's new

Small Shaft Straightening with Speed Lathe (?)

This guy Kev

Plastic
Hey Gents,

I work in a shop that works with various forms of SS almost exclusively. We specialize in drills, small shaft, and cannulated devices. Much of what we do is below .125 OD.

We have recurring rework issues regarding runout. Right now, they use the old dial indicator and press method to rework, which takes up tons of man hours.

Anyone have experience with using a speed lathe to work out the runout? I remember seeing an old-timer years ago correcting runout by applying pressure perpendicular to the shaft as it spun in a chuck. Many times, they just used their thumb to apply the pressure, given the small OD.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

No sir, no tail stock used, just free. We're talking 3-5" lengths.

I (being an old-timer now) used to and still do that, but generally not just using the thumb. The principal is taking the stock to yield with deflection, but supporting it such that as you reduce deflection you are releasing the deformation at the same time. It's easy to do if you know the tricks, and is a process best demonstrated.

You also don't do it when the stock already has features cut into it, straighten the clean/smooth stock first, then cut your features (unless you really don't like your fingers).

And yes, longer pieces must be supported, either by hand or fixture to prevent whipping and subsequent cursing. High speed is not needed, by memory I use around 200-400 RPM.

Where in MA are you? I could be cajoled into a demonstration with suitable inducements (food usually works).

Had no idea you could straighten under power. We straighten small assemblies to less than .001" TIR by indicating the high spot and applying pressure. The straightener in the photo is a Harig spin fixture modified with an off set crank handle and slide made from a Taig micro lathe. We use Hardinge accuracy collets to hold the work.

HarigConcentricityGaugeRS.jpg