What's new
What's new

Small spline broach manufacture

plunger

Aluminum
I hope someone can point me in the right direction.I am a plumber by trade and often get asked to make extensions for our undertile stoptaps for a shower.We dont have wooden houses here in Darkest South Africa and sometimes the faucets are embedded into the wall to deep bythe plumber. When its timeto put the handles on they are not able to fit.
How will I make a splined broach to make a male and female extension piece like in the pic.?
To give an idea of size the splined OD is about 7,7mm and there are 20 splines in total.
spline.jpg

Hi plunger:
I assume you want a broach to make these for your own customers and not to corner the world market on faucet extensions...is that correct?
Do you need to be able to broach both the male and the female spline or can you make the male spline by milling it directly on the brass part?
Are you hoping to rotary broach the female spline or push broach it?

Traditionally these tools were made by grinding them from a solid bar of High Speed Steel on a tool and cutter grinder or on a surface grinder with a profile dressed grinding wheel and an indexer to index the blank.
It is also possible to make these kinds of shapes with a wire EDM and then mounting them into a holder.
It is also possible to make them by wire EDM cutting an electrode and then reverse burning them using a sinker EDM.

In your case, without having any of those toys, the best way forward is to mill a broach blank from A-2 or D-2 tool steel and harden it.
Of course this assumes you have a milling machine and an indexer.

You make a fly cutter with the proper tooth space profile on it and then you index it around your tool steel blank, milling your profile with sufficient back daft that it doesn't bind when you push it in the hole.