What's new
What's new

snap ring grove question.

jumpinjimmy447

Aluminum
I have been a maintenance machinist for almost 30 years , I make a lot of simple parts and shafts ect . I also repair a lot of parts by welding up and turning ect .
I had a block yesterday about 6 inch x 4 inch with 2 bored bearings in it held in with snap rings , and was thinking how I would re cut them if needed .
it would be a pain to have to dial them in on a 4 jaw or possibly set them up on a rotary table with a thin type woodruff type cutter .

So my question is their a special tool or way to cut these on a mill with a boring head?

also I only have manual Bridgeport mill and a lathe.

Odd shaped parts like castings for power transfer cases can be done in a mill with a Wohlhaupter type head often much easier then using a lathe. Cutting snapring,oring grooves, and facing, one can make almost invisible repairs to damaged welded up castings.

I have several Narex B & Facing heads I could cut them with.However a lot of hard to hold parts I can always find a drop to make a light press mandrel and do them in one of the lathes.Really quick and not necessary to have a lot of speed.

I also have a lot of internal & external grooving tools for the various widths.The cheap $7-20 Chinese internal/external bars(that use dog bone inserts) work really well.

You can cut snap ring grooves with a standard boring head. Set up the proper cutter and feed the boring head out until the cutter touches the bore. Feed the boring head out a thou or two, and rotate the boring head by hand. Rinse and repeat until the proper depth is reached. Use spindle power for the final depth. Most snap ring grooves are so shallow this method may be faster than changing tools to a facing head.