snap ring grove question.
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default snap ring grove question.

I have been a maintenance machinist for almost 30 years , I make a lot of simple parts and shafts ect . I also repair a lot of parts by welding up and turning ect .
    I had a block yesterday about 6 inch x 4 inch with 2 bored bearings in it held in with snap rings , and was thinking how I would re cut them if needed .
    it would be a pain to have to dial them in on a 4 jaw or possibly set them up on a rotary table with a thin type woodruff type cutter .

So my question is their a special tool or way to cut these on a mill with a boring head?

also I only have manual Bridgeport mill and a lathe.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

never used one myself, but I believe that's what these are for,
    Grooving Head - Products

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Larry Dickman View Post
    never used one myself, but I believe that's what these are for,
    Grooving Head - Products
    That's pretty cool, but probably also serious coin. I doubt it is a reasonable solution for 'maintenance' type things. I would just say the OP is going to have to do it how he originally thought, 4 jaw or rotary table.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

You could use a boring and facing head.
    https://www.ebay.com/b/boring-facing-head/bn_7024876531

5. Likes digger doug liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Odd shaped parts like castings for power transfer cases can be done in a mill with a Wohlhaupter type head often much easier then using a lathe. Cutting snapring,oring grooves, and facing, one can make almost invisible repairs to damaged welded up castings.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)