Soliciting Opinions: Equipment to support Academic education mission - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

My opinion come from basically being a self taught engineer and a self taught machinist. I think turning the cranks, and creating set ups is a great way to start, then you can really appreciate the beauty of CNC. Once turning the cranks and watching the chips fly,becomes tedious then the focus becomes "how do I do this really fast, and get it done?" The local college here sold off all the manual machines. They teach CNC engineering, I've worked with some of these guys. It seems to me that there are gaps in their education especially in machine maintenance. Maybe that is unimportant for the engineer. A few have done some projects out side of school on my machines and marvel at the setups I use, certainly not rocket science, ........I suppose a lot of creativity is a born with thing.

2. Likes Bobw, sandiapaul liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Indiana
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

AGAIN, many thanks.

I was in a big rush on my last post and perhaps wasn't clear. Perhaps I'm violating some forum guideline, too, with this question.

What BRAND NAME RECOMMENDATIONS do PM'ers have for the lower-end, small-ish, student-appropriate, "import-quality" machines suitable for beginners? There are so many out there, and they all seem to originate from Taiwan or China.

It's just not my area of expertise, so I don't know. Now, robots, I could talk about all day....

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

"I've seen guys that only know CNC and they're fine. Plus it's not like it's hard to operate a manual mill lathe."

You can snap off a lot of end mills if somebody just hands you the keys to a VMC without any other
    training.