What's new
What's new

Spindle Taper R-8 Cat 40

pbiebach

Plastic
I have been looking at various used mills on craigslist etc and see most are either R-8 or CAT-40 and I'm wondering what the practical differences are. Is tooling more readily available/cheaper for one?
I am new to machining and am approaching this from a hobbyist viewpoint, but quality is still important to me.

any tips/comments are appreciated

Thanks

I doubt it is CAT40 unless CNC machines.... Probably NMTB40..

MNTB40 is miles ahead of R8 provided the mill has the rigidity to handle the bigger tooling NMTB40 is caqable of handling...

In the typical the typical bridgeport with 3 3/8" quill diameter I doubt there is much advantage...

40-taper tools are larger in diameter and have longer tapers, both of which increase rigidity. Despite the shorter taper, R8 tools have longer shanks, requiring additional headroom to change tools. For quality drill chucks and collet chucks, pricing is similar for either taper.

As RC stated, Bridgeports have 3-3/8" diameter quills (85mm for the clones) for R8 tooling, whereas larger mills have 100mm quills for 40 taper tooling. Some machines have 85mm quills for 40-taper tools... kind of pointless, if not detrimental due to the unnecessary extension.

More info on tooling in this video: Crash Course in Milling - Tool Holding

-Sol
Glacern Machine Tools

Let's not forget that although the NMTB-equipped machines can usually take bigger tooling (and heavier cuts), they usually have the downside of slower spindle speeds. This can be a limiting factor when trying to employ modern carbide tooling or using small-diameter drill and end mills.