What's new
What's new

Spline Cutting Tips

superman22x

Plastic
Hello,

To start off... I'm still learning, and looking for some tips on cutting some splines. I am trying to make new CV axles for my LS3 944 out of a chunk of 4340HR I have. What I have seen on some YouTube videos is that people have used 90* double angle cutters for splines. Involutes would be ideal, but for splines, I think that splines are only involute due to ease of manufacturing more than anything. So the double angle cutter is used. But my thought is that rather than spend $100 on a decent double angle cutter that will not get used for anything else likely, is there any reason I can't just use a standard end mill on the 45* tangent of the shaft? See picture below, it would be the image on the left vs image on the right for the double angle cuter. The spline roots would be slightly different due to the angle of the flutes, but that is not important I think? If it is, something like a keyway cutter would work, that has basically 90* flutes to the rotation of the cutter. Am I missing something else?

Looking for input, maybe there is a better way to do this all together.

Capture.JPG

These are the splines I'm trying to cut for reference:
0218192001.jpg

Last edited:
First you have to find out what type of spline you need to cut. Most automotive use is a 90 degree serration, not an involute.

Ed.

All auto axles, CVs, etc. that I've seen made are involute.
Males are rolled not cut which makes a stronger part but may be what you refer to as easier. It is fast.
It is a process than can be a SOB to get right and into spec. and from what I've seen very few automotive engineers understand how to tweak it correctly.

A standard or even custom end mill may produce sharp corners which become stress points.
If you strip an axle spline at a buck plus things go bad very fast, the car becomes uncontrollable and you get to test the roof and cage strength.