What's new
What's new

Squaring a stock piece to size

food.

Plastic
I know this is the very basics but I'm new to the machining world, if I needed the stock to be square but also to size. Let's say the block needs to be a 2" squared cube. What would be the best method to be able to zero my cutter and flycut or facemill my part to those dimensions?

Whatever you do, rough the part out first. That means cut most of the waste away, leaving say .010" still to machine on each side. The right thing to do after that is to grind the piece to size using a surface grinder. If you only have your mill you will have to work very carefully to get it exactly right.

And by the way it isn't real easy to mill a 2" cube within .001" everywhere and hold all the faces exactly square to each other.

metalmagpie

And by the way it isn't real easy to mill a 2" cube within .001" everywhere and hold all the faces exactly square to each other.

metalmagpie

Huh??

It's easier than microwaved pie. Hold chunk, Mill top, and 4 sides with the same Tool, flip part, Mill top---done. Why use a Surface Grinder? Besides, you are applying tolerance to this "cube" not the OP (food).

R

QT: [flycut or facemill my part]
Actually, to use an end mill perhaps ½ / ¾” or so might make better the part so taking out the need for near perfect tram.
Two sides (4) can be made square with a decent mill and trued-in vise but the ends (side 5) need be square on the sides not jaw-touching with the likes of a hand square or indicting one of the not jaw touching two sides.

To +- .001 not bad/not easy, but within .001 (so +- .0005) is not that easy on most mills IMHO.
Having a open grinder handy I think to grind the last .003/.005 easier than trying to pull .001 on most mills.

Same goes for making 123 blocks on a SG.. to hit sizes and be square all .0002 and less is not that easy..often thought to be a apprentice challenge it is a tough for a green guy.